‘Burn Bans’ in effect for many Virginia counties


As of October 4, the several counties and cities are under a burn ban due to drought conditions.

It is unlawful for any person to burn leaves, trash, or debris. Recreational fires are not under the burn ban, but officials discourage any use of open flame while the ban is in effect.

The following counties and cities are under a ‘burn ban’ as of October 4:

Bland County


Floyd County

Franklin County


Giles County

Hanover County

Henrico County

Henry County

Montgomery County

New Kent County

Patrick County

Pittsylvania County


Rocky Mount

Smyth County

Tazewell County

Wythe County